UM wins, MSU loses in Big Ten tourney openers

Detroit News staff and wires
Michigan's Jesse Franklin

Omaha, Neb. — Jesse Franklin hit a game-winning sacrifice fly to lift third-seeded Michigan past Iowa, 2-1, in 10 innings to open the Big Ten Tournament on Wednesday.

Franklin also homered for the Wolverines (33-19), who held the Hawkeyes to just one hit — and none after the second inning.

BOX SCORE: Michigan 2, Iowa 1 (10)

Michigan lost starting pitcher Tommy Henry in the second inning after he was hit in the throwing arm by a ball. But reliever Alec Rennard threw 5.2 innings of scoreless relief, and Franklin tied it up at 1-all in the fourth.

The Wolverines then loaded the bases in the 10th, and Franklin’s sacrifice to deep right field scored Christian Bullock easily.

Zach Daniels (6-2) took the loss for the sixth-seeded Hawkeyes (33-19), while William Tribucher (4-3) picked up the win for Michigan.

Michigan will face Purdue in the second round at 6 p.m. Thursday.

Minnesota 3, Michigan State 2: Eli Wilson drove in the go-ahead run in the fifth inning and Minnesota pitchers limited Michigan State to five hits.

The top-seeded Gophers (38-13) have won 22 of 25 games and will play Thursday night against the winner of the late game between Indiana and Illinois. The eighth-seeded Spartans (20-31) meet the Indiana-Illinois loser in an elimination game.

Wilson singled to left center off Mitchell Tyranski (2-2) to drive in Ben Mazzenga, who had doubled and taken third on a wild pitch. Mazzenga was called safe at third, though television replays showed Zach Iverson tagged him before he touched the bag.

Brett Schulze (9-0) pitched 3 2/3 shutout innings in relief of starter Jake Stevenson, and freshman closer Max Meyer got the last five outs for his conference-leading 15th save.


At TD Ameritrade Park, Omaha, Neb.

Wednesday’s games

Game 1: No. 3 Michigan 2, No. 6 Iowa 1 (10)

Game 2: No. 2 Purdue 8, No. 7 Ohio State 2

Game 3: No. 1 Minnesota 3, No. 8 Michigan State 2

Game 4: No. 4 Illinois 7, No. 5 Indiana 1

Thursday’s games

Game 5: Iowa vs. Ohio State, 10 a.m.

Game 6: Indiana vs. Michigan State, 2 p.m.

Game 7: Michigan vs. Purdue, 6 p.m.

Game 8: Illinois vs. Minnesota, 10 p.m.

Friday’s games

Game 9: Loser Game 7 vs. Winner Game 5, 4:30 p.m.

Game 10: Loser Game 8 vs. Winner Game 6, 8:30 p.m.

Saturday’s games

Game 11: Winner Game 9 vs. Winner Game 8, 10 a.m.

Game 12: Winner Game 10 vs. Winner Game 7, 2 p.m.

* Game 13: Winner Game 11 vs. Loser Game 11, 6 p.m.

* Game 14: Winner Game 12 vs. Loser Game 12, 10 p.m.

Sunday’s game

Game 15: Winner Game 12/14 vs. Winner Game 11/13, 2 p.m.

* If necessary

Note: Game 14 moves to 5 p.m. if Game 13 doesn’t take place