See who's playing in the Rocket Mortgage Classic

Tony Paul
The Detroit News
View Comments

Detroit — Eleven major champions, including winners of two this year, will tee it up in the Rocket Mortgage Classic at Detroit Golf Club from July 1-4.

Phil Mickelson, who won the PGA Championship, and Hideki Matsuyama, winner of the Masters, will headline the field, along with the 2020 U.S. Open and Rocket Mortgage Classic champion Bryson DeChambeau.

Other major winners in the 156-player field include Bubba Watson, Jason Day, Webb Simpson, Jason Dufner, Patrick Reed, Lucas Glover, Jimmy Walker and Gary Woodland.

Phil Mickelson

More commitments will continue to trickle in throughout the month of June, with the field set the Friday before tournament week, with the exception of one more sponsor's exemption and Monday qualifiers.

This is the third Rocket Mortgage Classic, out of an original four-year commitment. Fans will be back in 2021, after the event was held without them in 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic. Tickets are on sale at

2021 RMC player commitments

Cameron Champ

Jason Day

Bryson DeChambeau

►Luke Donald

►Jason Dufner

Rickie Fowler

►Lanto Griffin

►Adam Hadwin

►Russell Henley

►Max Homa

►Sungjae Im

►Kevin Kisner

►Jason Kokrak

Nate Lashley

►Luke List

Willie Mack III*

Hideki Matsuyama

Phil Mickelson

►Sebastian Munoz

►Joaquin Niemann

►Patrick Reed

►Webb Simpson

Brian Stuard

Davis Thompson*

►Brendon Todd

Harold Varner III

Bubba Watson

Gary Woodland

►Will Zalatoris

*Sponsor's exemptions

2021 RMC

When: Thursday, July 1, through Sunday, July 4

Where: Detroit Golf Club

Purse: $7.5 million (winner: $1.35 million)

2020 winner: Bryson DeChambeau


We're running a new-subscriber special. Support local journalism, and subscribe here.

Twitter: @tonypaul1984

View Comments