Sources: Trump facing at least 1 felony charge in NY case

Mercy's Alex Sobczak is Miss Softball by long shot

David Goricki
The Detroit News

Alex Sobczak of Farmington Hills Mercy was named Miss Softball by the Michigan High School Coaches Association with Mallory Teunissen of Division 2 state champion Wayland Union earning Miss Pitcher honors.

Sobczak, who will play next year at Michigan, was a four-year starter for Mercy, hitting 40 career home runs with a .524 career average. She hit three homers in a game as a freshman, then hit 17 her sophomore season, the third most home runs in a single season in state history.

Sobczak made outstanding contact, striking out only 23 times in 475 plate appearances during her career. She hit .440 this season with six homers and 33 RBIs, getting walked 39 times, including 18 intentionally.

Sobczak was thrilled with earning the title of Miss Softball, but was most pleased about Mercy's ability to reach Michigan State to play in the Division 1 state semifinals.

"It's been a goal of mine since freshman year, so it's such an honor to be named Miss Softball because there are so many great players," Sobczak said. "With the state playoffs going on, I had really forgotten all about it and when I was told I was just ecstatic.

"It was great to get to Michigan State and play because few get to experience playing in the Final Four. Sure, we would have loved to go further (5-2 semifinal loss to Caledonia), but it was fun to play in that type of atmosphere."

Sobczak, who was 2-for-4 in the semifinal loss, is looking forward to moving on to Michigan.

"I'm super excited to be starting my journey," Sobczak said. "I'm pushing myself to be a better athlete. It was a thrill to watch them in the NCAA Tournament, the national championship series. I was starting at the TV and felt like I was right there with them."

Mercy junior first baseman Abby Krzywiecki also landed a spot on the first team in Division 1. She led Mercy in hitting (.574), homers (12) and RBIs (57).

Teunissen had a career record of 145-12 with a 0.23 ERA for Wayland. She will play college ball at Davenport University in Grand Rapids.

Teunissen was outstanding at MSU in the state finals, throwing a two-hit 11-0 shutout against St. Clair in the semifinal, then tossing a four-hit shutout, striking out 17 in an 11-0 title game win over Frankenmuth.

Clarkston, which finished 40-3 with a quarterfinal loss to Mercy, placed three players on the Division 1 first-team all-state, including shortstop Rachel Vieira (Central Michigan), second baseman Mikayla Blaska (Princeton) and pitcher Candace Kitchen (UM-Dearborn).

Vieira hit .571 with 10 homers and 67 RBIs. Blaska hit .487 with 35 RBIs and Kitchen hit .478 with 22 RBIs and was 25-2 on the mound with a 1.57 ERA.

"We had a great season and had a lot of players have strong seasons for us, including Rachel, Mikayla and Candace," pointed out Clarkston coach Don Peters.

Division 1 state champion Warren Regina placed two on the first-team, second baseman Riley Hison and catcher Gina Munson. Hison was 3-for-7 with two doubles and fours RBIs in the semifinal and championship games.

Numerous players from the all-state teams will be playing in the Michigan High School Softball Coaches Association All-Star Game July 21 at Central Michigan. Peters will be among the coaches.

Division 1 First Team All State


Alyssa Heren, Saline

Lexi Agers, Hudsonville

Amber Foerster, Portage Central

Alex Sorgi, Utica Ford

Alex Carpenter, Lake Orion

Sarah Hillsburg, Mattawan


Rachel Vieira, Clarkston

Morgan Overaitis, Plymouth Salem

Kaylen Glenfield, Garden City

Katie Kish, Grosse Pointe South

Abby Krzywiecki, Farmington Hills Mercy

Danni Szajna, Romeo

Meredith Adams, Portage Central

Mikayla Blaska, Clarkston

Kelly Zackrison, Hudsonville

Riley Hison, Warren Regina

Hannah Bunker, Walled Lake Northern

Jenna VanDusen, Alpena

Brittney Miller, Plymouth

Lexi Fisher, Lapeer

Joanna Bartz, Mattawan


Katie Alexander, Saline

Alex Sobczak, Farmington Hills Mercy

Gina Munson, Warren Regina


Samantha Gehris, Caledonia

Candace Kitchen, Clarkston

Emma St. John, Grosse Pointe South

Mikayela Marciniaik, Plymouth

Madison French, Waterford Kettering

Aleigha Talsma, Hudsonville

Utility/designated players

Katey Hendershott, Ortonville Brandon

Nikoma Holmen, Grandville

Rachel Dolland, Lake Orion

Shelby Misiak, Lake Orion

Danielle Oracz, Caledonia

Division 2 First Team All State


Haley Hoogenraad, Zeeland West

Sabrina Farrell, Bullock Creek

Danielle Nowak, Tecumseh

Chelsea Schweiger, St. Clair

Elizabeth Renner, Richmond

Sarah Wyman, Paw Paw

Abby Merice, Wayland


Paige Churchfield, Saginaw Swan Valley

Alyssa Lang, Carleton Airport

Caroline Miller, Wayland

Olivia Roe, Portland

Tyffani Bryan, Tecumseh

Andrea Perlberg, Frankenmuth

Kennedy Clyde, Westland John Glenn


Hannah Bullard, Pontiac Notre Dame Prep

Courtney Sleeman, Zeeland

West Hannah Carson, Mt. Pleasant


Mallory Teunissen, Wayland

Megan Guitar, Croswell Lexington

Amariah Wright, Frankenmuth

Emily Bindus, Carleton Airport

Utility/designated players

Greta Wilker, Belding

Ally VanHekken, Grand Rapids Christian

Sydney Urben, Wayland

Taylor Westrick, St. Clair

Division 3 First Team All State


Kelsey Robinson, Bronson

Josie Lavrack, Pinconning

Maddie Coulter, Reese

Michaela Hartline, Niles Brandywine

Paige Kortz, Napoleon

Ali Kyles, Buchanan

Montana Spears, Allen Park Cabrini


Kinslea Blouin, Bronson

Lexi Hongisto, Gladstone

Emma Schmidt, Buchanan

Malinda Talaga, Pinconning

Eirka Underwood, Addison

Tyme Warner, Homer

Shaunna Musial, Dundee

Gabby Yanoski, Pinconning

Caitlyn Schuler, Clinton

Julia Hardy, Traverse City St. Francis

Megan Nelson, Clinton

Kaylee Roles, Reese

Courtney Cooley, Ithaca


Kassidy Butler,Parchment

Carlee Selle, Reese

Hannah Hoth, Boyne City

Hannah Reinbold, Muskegon Oakridge

Justice Ruggles, Grass Lake


Meghan Beaubien, Monroe St. Marys Catholic Central

Skyler Sobeski, Bronson

Allison Lipovsky, Harrison

Emily Kimball, Grand Rapids West Catholic

Madison Broton, Ravenna

Mackenzie Coulter, Reese

Gabby Morgan, Traverse City St. Francis

Sydney Coe, Napoleon

Utility/designated players

Sarah Van Houten, Grand Rapids Calvin Christian

Cali Mclean, Watervliet

Divison 4 First Team All State


Jackie Stone, Fulton

Taylor Slayton, Grosse Pointe University Liggett

McKena Razenberg, Kalamazoo Christian

Kaleigh Funchion, Whiteford

Jenna Hincka, Posen


Alexis Cerven, Decatur

Kara Gjeltema, Kalamazoo Christian

Averi Munro, Morrice

Mackenna Kelly, Frankfort

Melanie Kulanda, Maple City Glen Lake

Logan Fleming, Rogers City

Riley Terwilliger, Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart

Maddison Hamilton, Grosse Pointe University Liggett

Kayla Gremel, Unionville-Sebewaing

Cassidy Tucker, Coleman

Kayla Lenard, Posen

Emily Kanakvy, Grosse Pointe University Liggett

Shian Beekel, Hudson

Shanae Woolner, Ubly


Sarah Meredith, Rogers City

Ashley Friend, Holton

Lindy Mynhier, Morenci

Breanna Dinsmoore, Unionville-Sebewaing

Hannah Kanyuh, Rapid River


Nicole Bauer, Unionville-Sebewaing

Rachel Younts, Holton

Connor Proctor, Fulton

Julie St. John, Huron Valley Lutheran

Vanessa Schook, Hillman

McKenzie Hilton, Morenci

Alexa Quaine, Rogers City

Utility/designated players

Taylor Schmitt, Fowler

Brooke Schutte, AuGres-Sims

Kea DePauw, Inland Lakes

Kenzie Edson, Lawrence