Detroit King QB Dequan Finn named Mr. Football

David Goricki
The Detroit News
Detroit King quarterback Dequan Finn is congratulated by team personnel near the end of the championship game.

Detroit King quarterback Dequan Finn was selected as State Champs’ Mr. Football award winner for 2018.

Finn showed his dual-threat ability by throwing for four touchdowns and running for another score in the 41-25 Division 3 state-championship game win over No. 3 Muskegon last Saturday night at Ford Field.

Finn threw for 2,104 yards and 25 touchdowns his senior year, and he also rushed for 1,264 yards (14.5 yard average) and 21 TDs, helping King earn its third state championship in the last four years. Two were with him as quarterback.

Finn is a Central Michigan commitment, but hasn't announced if Friday's firing of coach John Bonamego will change his mind.

Mr. Football winners

2008: Torsten Boss, WR Lowell

2009: Jason Fracasa, QB, Sterling Heights Stevenson

2010: Tommy Vento, QB/S, Farmington Hills Marrison

2011: Prescott Line, RB, Oxford

2012: Mark Chapman, QB/DB/KR, Port Huron High

2013: Travis Smith, QB, Ithaca

2014: Alex Malzone, QB, Birmingham Brother Rice

2015: Donnie Corley, WR, Detroit King

2016: Cody White, WR, Walled Lake

2017: La'Darius Jefferson, QB, Muskegon

2018: Dequan Finn, QB, Detroit King