Tigers' Victor Martinez remains in hunt for AL MVP

Tony Paul
The Detroit News

Detroit — The Tigers are still alive in the American League Most Valuable Player race.

But probably not for long.

Designated hitter Victor Martinez was revealed as one of three finalists for the award, the winner of which will be announced Thursday, Nov. 13. The other candidates: Angels outfielder Mike Trout and Indians outfielder Michael Brantley.

Trout is widely expected to run away with the award, after finishing runner-up to Tigers slugger Miguel Cabrera each of the last two years.

The Tigers actually have won three straight AL MVPs. Justin Verlander won in 2011.

Martinez would make it four, but it seems very unlikely, seeing as no DH ever has won the award.

Martinez did set a career high in homers (32), and lead the league in on-base percentage (.409) and OPS (.974). But Trout had more homers, more RBIs and also plays Gold Glove-caliber defense.

Rookie of the year winners will be unveiled Monday, manager of the year Tuesday and Cy Young Wednesday, Nov. 12.

Martinez was the only Tiger to be a finalist in any category.

Some notes about the finalists:

* Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw is up for National League MVP and Cy Young, and is a heavy favorite to pull the double-take, like Verlander Verlander did in 2011.

* Angels right-hander Matt Shoemaker, an Eastern Michigan alum, is up for AL rookie of the year, though White Sox slugger Jose Abreu probably takes that in unanimous fashion.

* Most of the award votes are pretty straightforward. If there's one to watch, it's AL Cy Young, where Mariners ace Felix Hernandez and Indians ace Corey Kluber will finish 1-2 or 2-1. One vote figures to make the difference, like it did when David Price beat Verlander for Cy Young in 2012.

Here are the candidates for all the awards:


Michael Brantley, Indians

Victor Martinez, Tigers

Mike Trout, Angels


Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers

Andrew McCutchen, Pirates

Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins

AL Cy Young

Felix Hernandez, Mariners

Corey Kluber, Indians

Chris Sale, White Sox

NL Cy Young

Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers

Johnny Cueto, Reds

Adam Wainwright, Cardinals

AL rookie of the year

Jose Abreu, White Sox

Dellin Betances, Yankees

Matt Shoemaker, Angels

NL rookie of the year

Jacob deGrom, Mets

Billy Hamilton, Reds

Kolten Wong, Cardinals

AL manager of the year

Mike Scioscia, Angels

Buck Showalter, Orioles

Ned Yost, Royals

NL manager of the year

Bruce Bochy, Giants

Clint Hurdle, Pirates

Matt Williams, Nationals