Four Tigers are Gold Glove finalists

Tony Paul
The Detroit News
Jose Iglesias

Detroit -- The Tigers haven't had multiple Gold Glove winners in the same year since 2006. The odds seem pretty good this year.

Four Tigers were announced as Gold Glove finalists Thursday, including shortstop Jose Iglesias, second baseman Ian Kinsler, catcher James McCann and pitcher Justin Verlander.

None of the four have ever won a Gold Glove.

Rawlings made the announcements on Twitter. The Gold Glove winners will be announced Nov. 9 on ESPN.

In 2006, the Tigers had multiple Gold Glove winners, in pitcher Kenny Rogers and catcher Pudge Rodriguez.

Their last Gold Glove winner was outfielder Yoenis Cespedes last season. He won the award, despite being traded to the New York Mets in July. Before Cespedes, second baseman Placido Polanco was Detroit's last winner, in 2009.

Also of note, Colorado Rockies second baseman D.J. LeMahieu is a finalist. The Birmingham Brother Rice alum, who won the batting title in the National League this season after hitting .348, won a Gold Glove back in 2014.

Here's the competition the Tigers are facing:

Shortstop: Cleveland's Francisco Lindor, L.A.'s Andrelton Simmons

Second base: Seattle's Robinson Cano, Boston's Dustin Pedroia

Catcher: L.A.'s Carlos Perez, Kansas City's Salvador Perez

Pitcher: Toronto's R.A. Dickey, Houston's Dallas Keuchel

The Tigers also figure to have strong contenders for AL Rookie of the Year (Michael Fulmer) and Cy Young (Verlander).

Twitter @tonypaul1984

Mensching: K-Rod, Maybin options should be no-brainer for Tigers