Tigers' Fulmer, Verlander finalists for major awards

Chris McCosky
The Detroit News
Tigers pitcher Michael Fulmer works in the second inning. Fulmer pitched three and 1/3 innings allowing six hits with three earned runs, three walks and three strikeouts.

Scottsdale, Ariz. – Tigers pitchers Michael Fulmer and Justin Verlander are finalists for postseason hardware.

In voting by the Baseball Writers Association of America, Fulmer is one of three finalists for American League Rookie of the Year, along with Yankees catcher Gary Sanchez and Indians outfielder Tyler Naquin.

Verlander joins Indians Corey Kluber and Red Sox Rick Porcello as finalists for the American League Cy Young Award.

Verlander, who won the award in 2011, finished second in 2012 and third in 2009, posted a 16-9 record with a 3.04 ERA. He led the American League pitchers in strikeouts (254), WHIP (1.001) and WAR (6.6).

Fulmer is looking to be the Tigers’ first Rookie of the Year winner since Verlander in 2006. He was 11-7 with a 3.06 ERA. His pitcher’s WAR of 4.9 ranked eighth in the league.

Here are the rest of the finalists.

► NL Rookie of the Year: Kenta Maeda (Dodgers), Corey Seager (Dodgers), Trea Turner (Dodgers).

► NL Cy Young: Kyle Hendricks (Cubs), Jon Lester (Cubs), Max Scherzer (Nationals).

► AL Manager of the Year: Jeff Banister (Rangers), Terry Francona (Indians), Buck Showalter (Orioles).

► NL Manager of the Year: Dusty Baker (Nationals), Joe Madden (Cubs), Dave Roberts (Dodgers).

► AL Most Valuable Player: Jose Altuve (Astros), Mookie Betts (Red Sox), Mike Trout (Angels).

► NL Most Valuable Player: Kris Bryant (Cubs), Corey Seager (Dodgers), Daniel Murphy (Nationals).

The balloting is based on the regular season and submitted before the start of the postseason.

► Note: The Tigers took right-hander Dustin Molleken off the 40-man roster Monday and out-righted him to Triple-A Toledo. The club has 39 players on its 40-man roster.