Tigers draft picks Casey Mize, Kody Clemens miss out on Golden Spikes

Detroit News staff and wires
Detroit Tigers first-round pick Casey Mize was one of four finalists for the Golden Spikes Award.

Los Angeles — Detroit Tigers draft picks Casey Mize and Kody Clemens were among four finalists for the USA Baseball's Golden Spikes Award as the top amateur baseball player.

But both fell short in the voting to University of California first baseman Andrew Vaughn, who became the first player from his program to earn the honor.

Vaughn earned the 2018 Pac-12 Player of the Year award, hitting .402 in his sophomore season with 14 doubles, a school-recording tying 23 homers and 63 RBIs.

He is the eighth player from the conference to win the award after Bob Horner (1978), Terry Francona (1980), Oddibe McDowell (1984), Mike Kelly (1991), Mark Prior (2001), Tim Lincecum (2006) and Trevor Bauer (2011).

More: Tigers ponder where to place new talent plucked from June's draft

Mize, a right-handed starting pitcher and No. 1 overall pick, anchored Auburn's rotation and posted a 10-6 record with a 3.30 ERA, 156 strikeouts and 16 walks in 114.2 innings. Clemens, a second baseman at Texas, batted .351 and led the Longhorns in hits (87), runs scored (58), home runs (24), RBIs (72) and slugging percentage (.726).

Mize and Clemens, who were Detroit's first- and third-round selections in the MLB Draft earlier this month, have both signed with the Tigers.

More: Tigers sign No. 1 draft pick Casey Mize after 'very smooth' talks

Florida right-hander Brady Singer was the other finalist.

About 200 people cast ballots among national baseball media, select professional baseball personnel, previous winners and select USA Baseball staff. Those votes counted for 95 percent of the total, with fan balloting accounting for the remainder.

Golden Spikes winners

2018 — Andrew Vaughn, 1B, California

2017 — Brendan McKay, LHP/1B, Louisville

2016 — Kyle Lewis, OF, Mercer

2015 — Andrew Benintendi, OF, Arkansas

2014 — A.J. Reed, INF-P, Kentucky

2013 — Kris Bryant, INF, San Diego

2012 — Mike Zunino, C, Florida

2011 — Trevor Bauer, P, UCLA

2010 — Bryce Harper, C, Southern Nevada

2009 — Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State

2008 — Buster Posey, C, Florida State

2007 — David Price, P, Vanderbilt

2006 — Tim Lincecum, P, Washington

2005 — Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska

2004 — Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State

2003 — Rickie Weeks, INF, Southern U.

2002 — Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson

2001 — Mark Prior, P, Southern California

2000 — Kip Bouknight, P, South Carolina

1999 — Jason Jennings, P-DH, Baylor

1998 — Pat Burrell, 3B, Miami

1997 — J.D. Drew, OF, Florida State

1996 — Travis Lee, 1B, San Diego State

1995 — Mark Kotsay, OF, Cal State-Fullerton

1994 — Jason Varitek, C, Georgia Tech

1993 — Darren Dreifort, P, Wichita State

1992 — Phil Nevin, C, Cal State-Fullerton

1991 — Mike Kelly, OF, Arizona State

1990 — Alex Fernandez, P, Miami-Dade South

1989 — Ben McDonald, P, Louisiana State

1988 — Robin Ventura, 3B, Oklahoma State

1987 — Jim Abbott, P, Michigan

1986 — Mike Loynd, P, Florida State

1985 — Will Clark, 1B, Mississippi State

1984 — Oddibe McDowell, OF, Arizona State

1983 — Dave Magadan, INF, Alabama

1982 — Augie Schmidt, INF, New Orleans

1981 — Mike Fuentes, OF, Florida State

1980 — Terry Francona, OF, Arizona

1979 — Tim Wallach, INF, Cal State-Fullerton

1978 — Bob Horner, INF, Arizona State