Alex Karras, Roger Brown, Herman Moore to join Pride of the Lions

Justin Rogers
The Detroit News
Alex Karras, here in 1971, will join Herman Moore and Roger Brown in the Pride of the Lions display, which honors the franchise all-time great players.

Detroit — The Detroit Lions announced they are adding three players — defensive linemen Alex Karras and Roger Brown and wide receiver Herman Moore — to the “Pride of the Lions,” honoring the franchise’s all-time great players.

On Fox 2’s pregame broadcast Thursday evening, team president Rod Wood made the announcement. The ceremony will happen on Oct. 28, when the Lions host the Seattle Seahawks

“I had the pleasure of calling Roger Brown and informing him he’s being added to the wall,” Wood said. “Called Alex Karras’ son and told him the same thing. We’re going to put those two defensive linemen up there from the '60s, two all-time great players.”


Roger Brown

Wood then surprised Moore, who serves as one of the hosts on the pregame show, that he too was being honored.

"Oh man, thank you very much. That’s a surprise,” Moore said. “Thank you very much, and to all the fans, it’s been an honor and privilege to play here. I didn’t ever take anything for granted.”

Brown and Karras made up half of the Fearsome Foursome defensive line.

Brown was drafted by the Lions in the fourth round in 1960 draft out of Maryland-Eastern Shore. He spent seven seasons with Detroit before finishing his career with the Rams.

Herman Moore


He earned Pro-Bowl honors five consecutive seasons (1962-66) and was a two-time first-team All-Pro (1962-63).

Karras spent his entire 12-year career with the Lions after being selected by the franchise in the first round of the 1958 draft.

With the Lions, Karras was named a first-team All-Pro four times. In 1967 he was named to the All-Decade Team of the 1960s by the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

After his career, Karras went on to have a successful acting career, including roles in “Blazing Saddles” and the television show “Webster.” He died in October 2012.

Moore, a first-round pick in 1991, played in 145 games for the Lions from 1991-2001. He retired as the franchise leader in receptions, receiving yards and touchdowns. He currently ranks second in each category, behind only Calvin Johnson.

Moore set the then NFL record for receptions in a season with 123 catches and is the only player in Lions history to have more than 100 receptions in three seasons. He was also the second player in NFL history with three straight seasons with 100 or more receptions.  

Brown, Karras and Moore will join 15 players on the Pride of the Lions display at Ford Field, which was first unveiled in 2009.

Other members include cornerback Lem Barney, safety Jack Christiansen, quarterback Dutch Clark, offensive lineman Lou Creekmur, kicker Jason Hanson, cornerback Dick “Night Train” Lane, safety Yale Lary, quarterback Bobby Layne, cornerback Dick LeBeau, running back Barry Sanders, tight end Charlie Sanders, linebacker Joe Schmidt, guard Dick Stanfel, running back Doak Walker and offensive lineman Alex Wojciechowicz.