Lions honor 39 players as greatest in franchise history

Nolan Bianchi
The Detroit News

Several Detroit Lions from yesteryear took part in Sunday’s homecoming game at Ford Field during a matchup with the Kansas City Chiefs, and with the NFL celebrating its 100th season, a handful of them were anointed as the franchise’s elite.

As part of the Lions’ “Fantennial Weekend” celebration, the team at halftime named 39 players to its All-Time Team.

Lions NFL Hall of Famers Lem Barney, Joe Schmidt and Barry Sanders are pictured on the field before Sunday's game.

“These are the greatest players in Detroit Lions history,” Lions president Rod Wood said. “We are extremely proud to join in the celebration of the league’s 100th season by honoring our legends who paved the way for today’s players.”

The players were chosen by fan voting, contributions from the Detroit Lions Legends Community, Lions executives and members of the media. Years of service, stats, postseason accolades and other team honors were taken into consideration during voting.

Two current Lions players made the list, quarterback Matthew Stafford and long snapper Don Muhlbach.

“Their countless contributions to our game have left a lasting legacy on our organization, the NFL and the entire city of Detroit,” Wood added.

Former Lions All-Pro receiver Calvin Johnson was honored by the team but did not attend the ceremony.

Lions All-Time Team

Players are listed in alphabetical order.

Al “Bubba” Baker

Defensive End, 1978-1982

Lem Barney

Cornerback/Returner, 1967-1977

Bennie Blades

Safety, 1988-1996

Lomas Brown

Offensive Tackle, 1985-1995

Roger Brown

Defensive Tackle, 1960-1966

Jack Christiansen

Safety/Punt Returner, 1951-1958

Dutch Clark

Quarterback, 1934-1938

Gail Cogdill

Wide Receiver, 1960-1968

Lou Creekmur

Offensive Tackle, 1950-1959

Jimmy David

Cornerback, 1952-1959

Don Doll

Safety, 1949-1952

Gover "Ox" Emerson

Guard/Center/Linebacker, 1934-1937

Doug English

Defensive Tackle, 1975-1979, 1981-1985

Ed Flanagan

Center, 1965-1974

Kevin Glover

Center, 1985-1997

Mel Gray

Kick/Punt Returner, 1989-1994

Jason Hanson

Kicker, 1992-2012

Calvin Johnson

Wide Receiver, 2007-2015

Alex Karras

Defensive Tackle, 1958-1962, 1964-1970

Dick "Night Train" Lane

Cornerback, 1960-1965

Yale Lary

Safety/Punter, 1952-53, 1956-64

Bobby Layne

Quarterback, 1950-1958

Dick LeBeau

Cornerback, 1959-1972

Mike Lucci

Linebacker, 1965-1973

Herman Moore

Wide Receiver, 1991-2001

Don Muhlbach

Long Snapper, 2004-Present

Nick Pietrosante

Fullback, 1959-1965

Robert Porcher

Defensive End, 1992-2003

Barry Sanders

Running Back, 1989-1998

Charlie Sanders

Tight End, 1968-1977

Cory Schlesinger

Fullback, 1995-2006

Joe Schmidt

Linebacker, 1953-1965

Harley Sewell

Guard, 1953-1962

Billy Sims

Running Back, 1980-1984

Chris Spielman

Linebacker, 1988-1995

Matthew Stafford

Quarterback, 2009-Present

Dick Stanfel

Guard, 1952-1955

Doak Walker

Running Back, 1950-1955

Alex Wojciechowicz

Center/Linebacker, 1938-1946