Detroit — Pavel Datsyuk has won the Lady Byng Trophy four times.

Red Wings captain Henrik Zetterberg believes Datsyuk should be in the discussion every season.

"If you look over the years he's played in this league, he probably could be nominated every year and have a chance of winning every year," Zetterberg said after Datsyuk was again nominated for the award in April. "He's a special player and it's awesome to see that he gets rewarded."

Datsyuk, who won the Lady Byng (gentlemanly play and sportsmanship) from 2006-09, looks to live up to those words Wednesday at the NHL Awards show in Las Vegas. His competition includes former Red Wings teammate Jiri Hudler (Flames) and Anze Kopitar (Kings).

"I like to be nominated for anything," Datsyuk said. "Lady Byng is important to me. It's the best trophy."

While Datsyuk finished with solid offensive numbers — 65 points in 63 games — he had eight penalty minutes.

Ted Kulfan's award predictions

7 p.m. Wednesday, MGM Grand, Las Vegas (NBCSN)

Hart (MVP)

Nominees: Alex Ovechkin (Capitals), Carey Price (Canadiens), John Tavares (Islanders)

Winner — Price: It's not often a goaltender wins this award, but Price single-handedly led Montreal to an incredible season.

Norris (defenseman)

Nominees: Drew Doughty (Kings), Erik Karlsson (Senators), P.K. Subban (Canadiens)

Winner — Doughty: After watching the playoffs, the real question is why Duncan Keith (Blackhawks) isn't a finalist. But Doughty is worthy with his outstanding two-way play.

Vezina (goaltender)

Nominees: Devan Dubnyk (Wild), Carey Price (Canadiens), Pekka Rinne (Predators)

Winner — Price: From to start to finish, no other goaltender was better than Price.

Calder (rookie)

Nominees: Aaron Ekblad (Panthers), Johnny Gaudreau (Flames), Mark Stone (Senators)

Winner — Ekblad: Stone was outstanding in the second half, and Gaudreau destroyed the "too small" label. But Ekblad, from Day 1, had the look of a longtime Norris candidate.

Selke (defensive forwad)

Nominees: Patrice Bergeron (Bruins), Anze Kopitar (Kings), Jonathan Toews (Blackhawks)

Winner — Toews: You can't argue with any of the three winning, but Toews is truly something special.

Lady Byng (sportsmanship, ability)

Nominees: Pavel Datsyuk (Red Wings), Jiri Hudler (Flames), Anze Kopitar (Kings)

Winner — Kopitar: It wouldn't be shocking to see Datsyuk win his fifth Lady Byng, but Kopitar missed three games (Datsyuk missed 19) and had two more penalty minutes than Datsyuk (10-8).