Wings' Henrik Zetterberg honored for humanitarian works

Ted Kulfan
The Detroit News

Detroit — Henrik Zetterberg's leadership on and off the ice was recognized Wednesday at the NHL Awards Show in Las Vegas as he won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for humanitarian contributions in the Detroit community.

Zetterberg and his wife, Emma, host numerous children charities, including Metro Detroit area children's hospitals and mentoring non-profits at each regular-season home game at Joe Louis Arena in the Zetterberg Foundation Suite.

As team spokesman for the Red Wings' annual Smoke Detector Collection since 2006, Zetterberg matches all donations for the endeavor. In that time, the program has distributed 20,684 units to benefit low-income and physically disabled residents who could otherwise not afford or be able to install a smoke detector in their home.

Zetterberg also funds a high school hockey scholarship each year and underwrites the Hockey Weekly High School All-Star Banquet.

With the help of a $25,000 donation from the NHL for winning the Foundation Award in 2013, the Zetterberg Foundation broke ground on a water project in the village of Kemba, Ethiopia. The water project, to be completed this December, will supply 3,000 people of the village with clean, drinkable water for life.

Zetterberg, the Red Wings' captain, rebound from an injury-shortened season in 2013-14 to lead the Red Wings in points (66) and assists (49) this past season.

Zetterberg didn't attend the annual awards ceremony.

In the 27-year history of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, Detroit is only the fifth NHL team to have two players receive this honor. Red Wings forward Brendan Shanahan won the award in 2003.

One nominee from each team is selected by vote of his fellow players. Voters from the Professional Hockey Writers' Association and NHL Broadcasters' Association then selected Zetterberg from among the 30-team nominees.

No Byng for Dats

Pavel Datsyuk didn't win the Lady Byng Trophy but a former teammate did.

Former Red Wings forward Jiri Hudler won the trophy Wednesday given to the player who best exhibits gentlemanly conduct and sportsmanship while maintaining an elite level of play.

Datsyuk, who has won the Lady Byng four times, finished in second in voting by the Professional Hockey Writers Association with 648 points. Hudler had 700 points.

Los Angeles Kings forward Anze Kopitar had 379 points.

As a four-time winner of the Lady Byng (2006-10) Datsyuk trails only Frank Boucher (seven-time winner) and Wayne Gretzky (five).

Datsyuk had 65 points in 63 games while averaging 19 minutes of ice time. Datsyuk only had eight penalty minutes while having a plus-12 rating.

Hudler finished eighth in the NHL scoring race and established career highs in goals (31), assists (45) and points (76), helping the Flames qualify for the Stanley Cup playoffs for the first time since 2009.

Hudler tallied 23 points in March, when the team jumped from the outside of the playoff picture into third place in the Pacific Division. It marked the most points by any player in a calendar month this season.

A first-time NHL Trophy finalist, Hudler was assessed just 14 penalty minutes all season, fewest among the league's top 20 scorers.

Development camp

The Red Wings will hold their annual development camp in Traverse City from July 3 through 7 at the Centre Ice Arena.

Players will be split into two teams and work out twice July 3 – once on the ice and the other off – before having a scrimmage July 4.

Both teams will work out twice July 5 and 6 before the camp ends with another scrimmage at 11 a.m. July 7.

The rosters will not be announced until after the NHL Entry Draft this weekend.


Hart Memorial Trophy, MVP — Carey Price, G, Montreal

Vezina Trophy, goaltender — Carey Price, Montreal

James Norris Memorial Trophy, defenseman — Erik Karlsson, Ottawa

Calder Memorial Trophy, rookie — Aaron Ekblad, D, Florida

Frank J. Selke Trophy, defensive forward — Patrice Bergeron, C, Boston

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, most gentlemanly — Jiri Hudler, C, Calgary

Jack Adams Award, coach — Bob Hartley, Calgary

King Clancy Trophy, humanitarian contribution to hockey — Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, great leadership qualities both on and off the ice — Jonathan Toews, C, Chicago

NHL Foundation Player Award, applies commitment, perseverance and teamwork to enrich his community — Brent Burns, D, San Jose.

NHL General Manager of the Year Award — Steve Yzerman, Tampa Bay.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey — Devan Dubnyk, G, Minnesota

Awards Based on Regular-Season Statistics

Art Ross Trophy, points scoring leader — Jamie Benn, Dallas

Maurice Richard Trophy, goal-scoring leader — Alexander Ovechkin, Washington

William M. Jennings Trophy, goalies with fewest goals against, minimum 25 games — Corey Crawford, Chicago, and Carey Price, Montreal

Award voted on by NHL Players' Association

Ted Lindsay Award, outstanding player — Carey Price, G, Montreal