LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE

Detroit City FC women's team will play its first-ever game against Midwest United Saturday, May 9, at Keyworth Stadium. The announcement came as United Women’s Soccer Midwest Conference was released Friday.

DCFC’s women will play 10 matches, including a home-and-home series against inter-city rival Detroit Sun, which is moving to its home matches to The Corner Ballpark by Adient from Ultimate Soccer Arenas in Pontiac. Le Rouge women play the Sun 5 p.m. Sunday, May 31, at The Corner Ballpark with the return leg 7:30 p.m. Saturday, June 6, at Keyworth.

DCFC reached a deal to have 12 select men and women’s matches carried on WMYD Channel 20 this season.

The Sun opens the season against Lansing United at 5 p.m. Saturday, May 10, at The Corner Ballpark.

Nine teams in the UWS Midwest Conference will compete for the title with the champion receiving an automatic berth into four-team UWS National Championship July 17-19.

DCFC women's schedule

Saturday, May 9: vs. Midwest United, 7:30

Saturday, May 16: vs. Lansing United, 4:30

Saturday, May 23: vs. AFC Ann Arbor, 7:30

Friday, May 29: at Indiana Union, 7:30

Sunday, May 31: at Detroit Sun, 5

Saturday, June 6: vs. Detroit Sun, 7:30

Friday, June 12: at MSC Peoria, 7

Saturday, June 20: at Muskegon, 7

Sunday, June 28: at AFC Ann Arbor, 6

Friday, July 3: vs. Ladies Steel City FC, 7:30

Detroit Sun schedule

Saturday, May 10: vs. Lansing United, 5

Friday, May 15: at Muskegon, 4

Sunday, May 17: vs. MSC Peoria, 5

Saturday, May 23: at Midwest United, 7

Sunday, May 31: vs. Detroit City FC, 5

Saturday, June 6: at Detroit City FC, 7:30

Friday, June 12: at AFC Ann Arbor, 6

Sunday, June 14: at Steel City FC, 4

Sunday, June 21: vs. AFC Ann Arbor, 5

Sunday, June 28: vs. Indiana Union, 5

LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE